2019 Texas Film Awards Red Carpet

2019 Texas Film Awards
AFS Cinema, Austin, TX
March 7, 2019

This year’s Texas Film Awards honored actress and entrepreneur Brooklyn Decker (SUPPORT THE GIRLS, Grace and Frankie) with the Rising Star Award, filmmaker John Lee Hancock (THE HIGHWAYMEN, THE BLIND SIDE, THE ROOKIE), and OFFICE SPACE with the Star of Texas Award, in honor of its 20th year anniversary. OFFICE SPACE writer/director Mike Judge and actors David Herman and Gary Cole accepted the award for the film.

Filmmaker Lynn Shelton and comedian/actor Marc Maron emceed the evening. Academy Award-winning actress Kathy Bates presented her longtime collaborator John Lee Hancock with his award, and actress June Diane Raphael present her “Grace and Frankie” co-star Brooklyn Decker with her award.

Walking the red carpet were 2019 Honorees Brooklyn Decker (Rising Star Award); John Lee Hancock; Mike Judge, Gary Cole, David Herman (Star of Texas Award – 20th Anniversary of Office Space); Kathy Bates & June Diane Raphael (Presenters); Marc Maron & Lynn Shelton (MC’s); Richard Linklater (AFS Founder & Artistic Director); Rebecca Campbell (AFS CEO); Holly Herrick (AFS Head of Film & Creative Media); Janet Pierson, and Jackson Rathbone.

[divide color=”#”]


Click to View Full Images

[divide color=”#”]

About Austin Film Society
Founded in 1985 by filmmaker Richard Linklater, the Austin Film Society’s mission is to empower our community to make, watch, and love creative media. AFS curates and screens hundreds of repertory, international, and art house films annually at the AFS Cinema; delivers financial support to Texas filmmakers through the AFS Grant; operates Austin Studios, a 20-acre production facility, and Austin Public, a space for our city’s diverse mediamakers to train and collaborate. Through its award-winning after school classes, intern training, and the Ed Lowry Student Film program, AFS encourages media literacy and provides a place for youth of all backgrounds to learn the craft of filmmaking and gain access to tools for media production. By hosting premieres, special events, local and international industry events, and the Texas Film Awards, AFS shines the national spotlight on Texas filmmakers while connecting Austin and Texas to the wider film community. To learn more about the AFS Cinema or about Austin Film Society’s mission visit www.austinfilm.org and follow @AustinFilm on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

About the Texas Film Awards
The Texas Film Hall of Fame—founded by Evan Smith and Louis Black in 2001—honors those who have made a significant contribution to the advancement of the Texas film and creative media industry. Now in its 19th year, the Texas Film Awards brings together legends of cinema and television and inducts industry icons into the Texas Film Hall of Fame. Proceeds from the unforgettable evening benefit the artistic and educational programs of the Austin Film Society, a 501c3 nonprofit. 2019 event sponsors include The Line Hotel Austin, H-E-B, SXSW, Echelon, Richard’s Rainwater, Panacea Collective, and Brandi Cowley. Media sponsors include Texas Monthly and The Austin Chronicle.

All photos © 2019 Jim Chapin Photography. Please do not use without written permission. Images may be available for licensing or as prints.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.